Skip to content

What this is. The single home for what Canadian regulation requires of advisors who recommend borrowing to invest, and for where the line sits between what SDC may do unlicensed and what would require registration. Written 2026-09-07 for sdc-risks-canada-leverage-compliance (Strategic Plan v2.1 Phase 1c).

Status: draft, CEO approval pending. Risks is an A1 department — this file is a draft recommendation, not an approved compliance posture. Section 8 lists what still needs a securities lawyer; nothing in this file is legal advice.

Sourcing standard. Every rule statement below was read in the regulator’s own current text, fetched 2026-09-07, and is cited in §9 with the document’s own date. Where the answer is a judgement call rather than a rule, it says so. Where only a law-firm-grade inference exists, it is marked inference and routed to §8.

Supersedes Core/_WorkingOn/Research/archive/canada-advisor-leverage-regulations.md (March 2026, no citations). That file is retired; do not cite it.


1. The current regime — what actually governs, today

Section titled “1. The current regime — what actually governs, today”

CIRO exists; the two old rulebooks do not yet. CIRO began operations 1 January 2023 by amalgamating IIROC and the MFDA. The amalgamation merged the organizations. It has not yet merged the rulebooks. As of the fetch date CIRO’s own Dealer Member Rules page lists two live rule sets:

RulebookGovernsCurrent version read
Investment Dealer and Partially Consolidated (IDPC) RulesInvestment dealers — the former IIROC channel11 August 2026
Mutual Fund Dealer (MFD) RulesMutual fund dealers — the former MFDA channel1 April 2026

CIRO’s Rule Consolidation Project is merging both into a third set, the CIRO Dealer and Consolidated (DC) Rules, across five phases. CIRO’s own description of the mechanism: “a fourth rule set, the new DC Rules, will begin to be implemented before we begin to repeal the existing IDPC Rules and MFD Rules in phases.” No completion date is published. Practical consequence: the channel split is still real, the rules still differ per channel, and any statement that “CIRO has one rulebook now” is wrong.

Two more facts that matter and are easy to get wrong:

  • Legacy guidance is still live, not historical. CIRO’s rules page states that IIROC-era guidance notes and MFDA-era staff notices “remain effective and will be updated to reference” the new rulebook names. The leverage disclosure notice for the mutual fund channel is still a 2010 MFDA notice (MSN-0074) sitting on CIRO’s live site. It is current, not archived.
  • The old MFDA “Policy No. 2” is now a rule, renumbered. The minimum account-supervision standards — including every numeric leverage trigger in §3 below — are now MFD Rule 200, Section III, inside the MFD Rules themselves.

What changed since the 1996–2008 playbook. Three things, in order of how much they change the sales conversation:

  1. The client-focused reforms landed. Suitability is no longer “suitable”; it is suitable and puts the client’s interest first, assessed against a stated list of factors including a reasonable range of alternative actions available at the time. Both channels now carry this, and both name borrowing to invest explicitly.
  2. Leverage got hard numeric supervisory triggers — in the mutual fund channel only. The six criteria in §3.2 did not exist in this form in the old playbook’s early years.
  3. The insurance channel got a national leveraging standard for the first time, in November 2025. See §5. This is the newest thing in this file and the one most likely to be unknown to the advisors being reconnected with.

2. Leverage disclosure — the live obligation, per channel

Section titled “2. Leverage disclosure — the live obligation, per channel”

Stated separately because the two channels genuinely differ.

IDPC Rule 3217, “Leverage risk disclosure statement” — verbatim:

(1) When opening a new account for a retail client, prior to making an initial recommendation to a retail client to purchase securities using borrowed money, or when first becoming aware of a retail client’s intention to purchase securities using borrowed money, a Dealer Member must: (i) provide each retail client with a copy of the leverage risk disclosure statement, and (ii) obtain the retail client’s positive acknowledgement that they are in receipt of the disclosure statement referred to in clause 3217(1)(i). (2) A Dealer Member is not required to comply with subsection 3217(1) where it has provided the retail client with a leverage risk disclosure statement in accordance with subsection 3217(1) within the last six months.

The prescribed wording under 3217(3) is a single sentence pair — borrowed money is riskier than cash; the obligation to repay survives a decline in value.

Three things to note: the trigger is three-pronged (new account, first recommendation, or first awareness of client intent — no recommendation needed), the dealer must obtain positive acknowledgement (not merely deliver), and the six-month look-back is a refresh exemption, not a waiver.

MFD Rule 2.6, “Borrowing for Securities Purchases” — verbatim:

Each Member shall provide to each client a risk disclosure document containing the information prescribed by Corporation when (a) a new account is opened for the client; and (b) when an Approved Person makes a recommendation for purchasing securities by borrowing, or otherwise becomes aware of a client borrowing monies for the purpose of investment, provided that a Member is not required to comply with paragraph (b) if such a risk disclosure document has been provided to the client by the Member within the six month period prior to such recommendation or becoming so aware.

The content is prescribed separately, by MSN-0074 Leverage Risk Disclosure (April 2010, updated May 2010, still live on CIRO’s site, rulebook connection “MFDA Rules”). MSN-0074 prescribes two documents:

  • Appendix A, short form — the same one-sentence-pair wording as IDPC 3217(3).
  • Appendix B, long form — roughly a page: Is it Right for You? (a should / should-not list), You Can End Up Losing Money, and Tax Considerations.

Which one is required, per MSN-0074: long form (B) is mandatory for a recommendation to borrow, or awareness of borrowing, in a non-registered account. At account opening, or for an RRSP/RESP, either A or B may be used.

Two of the long form’s own lines are worth knowing verbatim, because they set the ceiling on what a leverage pitch may claim:

“You should not borrow to invest just to receive a tax deduction.” “Interest costs are not always tax deductible. You may not be entitled to a tax deduction and may be reassessed for past deductions.”

The mutual fund channel’s disclosure is materially longer and more prescriptive in content (a full risk page, mandatory in non-registered accounts) than the investment dealer channel’s two-sentence statement. That is the first concrete piece of evidence bearing on the plan’s “least friction at the higher end” assumption. See §4.4 for the verdict.


3. Suitability and KYC on leverage, per channel

Section titled “3. Suitability and KYC on leverage, per channel”
  • KYC — IDPC 3202(1)(iii)(a) requires sufficient information on the client’s personal circumstances, financial circumstances, investment needs and objectives, investment knowledge, risk profile, and investment time horizon. 3202(1)(iv) separately requires establishing creditworthiness where the dealer is financing the acquisition.
    • Precision note: the rule says “financial circumstances” without enumerating. The enumeration advisors actually work from — annual income, liquidity needs, financial assets, net worth, and whether the client is using leverage — is in the guidance note (GN-3200-22-001 §2.1), not in the rule text. Cite it as guidance, not as rule.
  • Suitability — IDPC 3402(1) requires a determination, before any recommendation or investment action, that the action (i) is suitable based on KYC, product understanding, account impact and concentration, cost impact, and a consideration of a reasonable range of alternative actions, and (ii) puts the retail client’s interest first.
  • Guidance — GN-3200-22-001, “Guidance on Borrowing for Investment Purposes” (25 October 2022; replaced GN-3200-21-001 of 31 December 2021; published under Notice 22-0166). This is the operative document for the channel. Its pre-recommendation checklist asks whether the Registered Individual has:
    • collected the proposed loan’s amount, term, interest rate and collateral,
    • determined the loan’s pro-forma impact on the client’s financial situation,
    • determined the loan arrangement is suitable — and, if not, told the client so and/or refused to advance it,
    • provided the leverage risk disclosure statement and obtained acknowledgement under s.3217,
    • and, in assessing impact, considered total monthly debt service cost vs. monthly income, the overall debt-to-net-worth leverage ratio, and whether other client assets are encumbered as collateral.
  • Off-book loans (third-party lender, not the dealer) attract their own controls: systems to flag recommended off-book loans, supervision of those accounts, and — where a referral arrangement exists — the full NI 31-103 referral-arrangement disclosure (written agreement, records of referral fees, pre-account written disclosure naming parties, purpose, conflicts, fee calculation, and each party’s registration category and what it does and does not permit). This is the rule SDC’s own affiliate mechanics collide with — see §6.4.
  • Order-execution-only: CIRO states dealers approved for OEO “should not advise on or promote the use of borrowing-to-invest strategies, nor engage in referral activities to lenders.” A discount-brokerage channel is therefore closed to this business.
  • Suitability — MFD Rule 2.2.6(1) carries the same client-focused-reforms standard and names leverage in the rule text itself: the determination is required before the Member “makes a recommendation for an account of a client, including a recommendation to borrow to invest.” Same two limbs: suitable on the listed factors, and puts the client’s interest first.

  • MFD Rule 200 §III — the six numeric leverage triggers. These are the sharpest, most quotable requirements in the whole Canadian regime, and they exist only in this channel. Any one of them requires supervisory review and investigation of the leverage strategy:

    #Trigger
    ainvestment knowledge of low or poor (or similar)
    brisk profile of less than medium (or similar)
    cage 60 and above
    dinvestment time horizon of less than 5 years
    etotal leverage exceeding 30% of the client’s total net worth
    ftotal debt and lease payments exceeding 35% of gross income, excluding income from the leveraged investments

    Triggering one does not make the strategy unsuitable — but the Member’s review “must be able to demonstrate that use of the leverage strategy was suitable for the client, and put the client’s interests first,” and where approved, “the analysis and rationale must be documented.”

  • No waivers. MFD Rule 200 §III: “Members and registered salespersons may not obtain a waiver from the client to exempt the Member and the registered salesperson from their obligations” on leverage suitability. A client signature does not buy out the duty.

  • Documents the Member must hold: lending documents or sufficient inquiry into the loan (rate, repayment terms, outstanding balance); copies of the loan application where the advisor assisted with it; KYC reconciled against loan information with material inconsistencies followed up; numerical support for the income and net-worth calculations behind triggers (e) and (f); and notes supporting the rationale for recommending the strategy.

  • If the client won’t disclose the loan: the Member “must advise the client that they cannot make a suitability determination without additional information and maintain evidence of such advice.”

  • Account flagging: where a leverage strategy is recommended or borrowed funds are known to be involved, the account must be identified as “leveraged” on the Member’s system.

3.3 The per-channel picture, stated plainly

Section titled “3.3 The per-channel picture, stated plainly”
Investment dealers (IDPC)Mutual fund dealers (MFD)
Disclosures.3217 — 2-sentence statement + positive acknowledgementRule 2.6 + MSN-0074 — long form mandatory in non-registered accounts
Leverage named in the suitability rule itselfNo (in guidance)Yes — Rule 2.2.6(1)
Numeric supervisory triggersNone in the rulebookSix (Rule 200 §III)
Documented rationale required on approvalGuidance expectationRule requirement
Detailed supervisory frameworkGN-3200-22-001 §4 (minimum controls + best practices)Rule 200 §III
Margin/leverage ceilingYes — IDPC 5100-series margin rules cap on-book borrowingLimited margin rules

4. The unlicensed boundary — the load-bearing section

Section titled “4. The unlicensed boundary — the load-bearing section”

This is the rule the business model rests on. It is treated at length because getting it wrong ends the business, and because the honest answer has a verified part and a part that needs counsel.

Two limbs, both of which must be satisfied for the requirement to bite:

(a) The activity is “advising” as defined. Ontario’s Securities Act s.1(1):

“adviser” means a person or company engaging in or holding himself, herself or itself out as engaging in the business of advising others as to the investing in or the buying or selling of securities

(b) It is carried on for a business purpose — the “business trigger.” Companion Policy 31-103CP: “We refer to trading or advising in securities for a business purpose as the ‘business trigger’ for registration.” The factors it lists:

Factor31-103CP’s own words (condensed)
(a) Activities similar to a registrantpromoting securities, or stating in any way you will buy or sell securities
(b) Intermediating trades / market makingacting as a broker between buyer and seller
(c) Repetition, regularity, continuity”regularly trading or advising in any way that produces, or is intended to produce, profits”
(d) Being, or expecting to be, compensated”It does not matter if the individual or firm actually receives compensation or in what form.”
(e) Directly or indirectly solicitingincluding “advertising that … offers services or advice for these purposes”

SDC would satisfy (b) comfortably. It is a for-profit, repeated, compensated, solicited activity. The business trigger is not where SDC’s protection lies. Everything turns on limb (a).

4.2 The “not tailored” exemption — and the Ontario trap

Section titled “4.2 The “not tailored” exemption — and the Ontario trap”

There is an express exemption for advice that is not tailored. It is in two different places depending on province, and Talbot’s own province is the exception.

Outside Ontario — NI 31-103 s.8.25(2) (unofficial consolidation effective 1 January 2026):

The adviser registration requirement does not apply to a person or company that acts as an adviser if the advice the person or company provides does not purport to be tailored to the needs of the person or company receiving the advice.

…followed immediately by s.8.25(5): “This section does not apply in Ontario.” with the note that Ontario’s equivalent is s.34 of its Securities Act.

In Ontario — Securities Act s.34(1)¶1 (last amendment 2025, c.10, Sched. 17):

A person or company that engages in or holds himself, herself or itself out as engaging in the business of providing advice, either directly or through publications or other media, with respect to investing in or buying or selling securities, including any class of securities and the securities of a class of issuers, that are not purported to be tailored to the needs of anyone receiving the advice.

Both versions carry a disclosure-of-interest condition (NI 31-103 s.8.25(3)–(4); OSA s.34(3)–(5)): anyone relying on the exemption who recommends a specified security in which they hold a financial or other interest — including “a commission or other compensation received or expected to be received … in connection with a trade in the security” — must disclose that interest concurrently with providing the advice.

What 31-103CP says “not tailored” looks like (verbatim):

In general, we would not consider advice about specific securities to be tailored to the needs of the recipient if it:

  • is a general discussion of the merits and risks of the security
  • is delivered through investment newsletters, articles in general circulation newspapers or magazines, websites, e-mail, Internet chat rooms, bulletin boards, television or radio, and
  • does not claim to be tailored to the needs and circumstances of any recipient

And the limit on it, also verbatim:

This type of general advice can also be given at conferences. However, if a purpose of the conference is to solicit the audience and generate specific trades in specific securities, we may consider the advice to be tailored or we may consider the individual or firm giving the advice to be engaged in trading activity.

4.3 Applying this to SDC — what is verified and what is not

Section titled “4.3 Applying this to SDC — what is verified and what is not”

Verified, and safe to rely on:

  1. A book, a public website, a seminar, or a general newsletter explaining leverage mathematics is squarely inside the exemption, in Ontario and elsewhere, provided it names no specific security and does not purport to be tailored to any recipient. 31-103CP names websites explicitly, and OSA s.34(1)¶1 names publications and other media explicitly. This is the 1996–2008 playbook’s own format and it remains lawful.
  2. The exemption is about tailoring, not about medium or sophistication. Software is not disqualified for being software, and generality is not lost by being rigorous.
  3. If SDC ever earns a commission connected to a trade in a security it recommends, the concurrent-disclosure condition bites — this is exactly the kind of arrangement the affiliate model could create. See §6.4.

Not verified — the genuine open question:

  1. An interactive calculator that takes a specific user’s income, net worth, tax rate and time horizon, and returns a leverage recommendation for that user, is on the wrong side of “not tailored” on a plain reading. The exemption’s whole content is “does not purport to be tailored to the needs of the person receiving it,” and personalized output is the definition of tailored. Nothing in 31-103CP addresses calculators, tools, or software either way — the guidance list is a list of publishing formats.
  2. But limb (a) may never engage in the first place. The definition of “adviser” is advising “as to the investing in or the buying or selling of securities.” SDC’s math is about how much to borrow and on what terms — a financing and strategy question — and returns no security. Advice about a loan is not, on its face, advice about a security. If limb (a) does not engage, the tailoring exemption is irrelevant, because there is nothing to be exempted from.
  3. Where §4.5 lands is therefore the whole question, and it is a question of statutory interpretation on specific facts. That is a securities lawyer’s call, not this file’s. §8 states the question in the form to put to counsel.

The working rule until counsel answers (conservative, A1-appropriate, and sufficient for the entire Canada restart):

SDC’s tools output mathematics, not conclusions, and the licensed advisor owns every recommendation. Where output is personalized to an end client, it is produced by the advisor, for the advisor’s own file, as an input to the advisor’s own suitability determination — not delivered by SDC to that client as advice. Public-facing SDC material stays general, names no security, and does not purport to be tailored to anyone.

This is not a workaround; it is the same structural rule already recorded in Affiliate-Compliance, now with the actual sections under it, plus one addition it did not have — the Ontario/rest-of-Canada split in §4.2.

4.4 Verdict on the plan’s “least friction at the higher end” claim

Section titled “4.4 Verdict on the plan’s “least friction at the higher end” claim”

The Strategic Plan describes the securities-licensed / private-banking channel as having the least friction on leverage. Verified as directionally right, but for a narrower reason than the plan implies, and with one flat contradiction.

  • Right: the IDPC channel has no numeric leverage triggers in its rulebook — no age-60 flag, no 30%-of-net-worth ceiling, no 35% debt-service ratio. Its equivalent expectations live in a guidance note. A same-facts leverage case that trips mandatory supervisory review in a mutual fund dealer may not trip any bright line at an investment dealer. Its mandatory client disclosure is also far shorter (two sentences vs. a full risk page).
  • Wrong, or at least not free: the IDPC channel’s supervisory burden is heavier, not lighter. GN-3200-22-001 §4 imposes account-flagging, dedicated supervisory review of every loan-financed account, evidence retention, business-location examination coverage, pre-approval regimes for off-book strategies, and lending-practice due diligence on new hires. On-book borrowing is separately capped by the IDPC 5100-series margin rules — a hard ceiling the mutual fund channel does not have. And order-execution-only dealers are told outright not to promote borrowing-to-invest or refer to lenders, closing that sub-channel entirely.

Usable form of the finding: friction at the higher end is lower at the client-facing moment (less disclosure, no bright-line trip-wires) and higher behind the scenes (supervision, margin caps). The pitch that works is one that reduces the advisor’s documentation burden, not one that assumes the advisor faces fewer rules.

What this does not decide. Regulatory friction is one input to channel order, and the other two available inputs point elsewhere — see the scope note under §7.4 C1. The plan’s channel priority is a CEO call, not a compliance finding.

Whether “advice to borrow to invest, with no security named” is advice “as to the investing in … securities” within the s.1(1) definition. Everything in §4.3 point 6 hangs on it. Routed to §8.


5. The insurance channel — a separate track, and newly changed

Section titled “5. The insurance channel — a separate track, and newly changed”

Insurance advisors are not regulated by CIRO. They are licensed provincially, and the national conduct expectations come from CCIR and CISRO — councils of the provincial regulators, not a regulator with its own rulebook. Their guidance states its own limit plainly: “The expectations under this Guidance do not supersede the legislative and regulatory imperatives of jurisdictions.”

Correct the common error before it propagates: FSRA is Ontario’s insurance regulator, not Canada’s. Naming FSRA as the insurance regulator is wrong everywhere outside Ontario. The cross-provincial layer is CCIR/CISRO guidance, implemented jurisdiction by jurisdiction.

CCIR/CISRO Segregated Funds Guidance, November 2025. It covers IVICs (individual variable insurance contracts — segregated fund contracts), and it is the first national standard to define and regulate leverage in this channel. It defines:

“Leveraging Strategy” means a strategy for borrowing to invest in an IVIC that is created for a Customer.

No fixed national in-force date. CCIR and CISRO “expect that insurance regulators in each Canadian jurisdiction will implement the Guidance in a manner consistent with their legal framework and culture.” Adoption timing is therefore per province and must be checked per province before relying on it as binding anywhere specific. Treat it today as the expectation an insurance advisor’s own compliance function will be working to, which is what matters for the restart conversation.

Scope limit worth knowing: it applies only to IVICs, and “does not apply to group variable insurance products or any other non-IVIC insurance products.” Leveraged strategies built on other insurance products are outside it.

  • §7.1.3.2 — before recommending a client borrow to invest in an IVIC, the intermediary must create a written leveraging strategy setting out at minimum: proposed duration including the loan’s; loan terms, interest rate and required payments; collateral; when and how principal/interest must be paid; the IVIC and its structure; the investment options; the performance required to make a profit net of fees, charges and borrowing costs; and when and how withdrawals may be made.
  • §7.1.3.3 — a 13-factor suitability assessment, including that a leveraging strategy is “rarely suitable” for customers with low risk tolerance, with limited investment experience or understanding, or who are elderly; ability to sustain loss; sufficient income, assets and liquidity to service and repay; likelihood of profit net of expenses; tax consequences; collateral-assignment impact; time horizon vs. loan duration; and — explicitly — “the details of the Leveraging Strategy if created by someone other than the Intermediary.”
  • §6.1.5.1 — before advising on leveraging at all, the intermediary must know and be able to explain what a leveraging strategy is, how to create one, how to assess its suitability, how to monitor for material deviation, and what to do when deviation is found.

5.3 The two provisions that decide SDC’s position in this channel

Section titled “5.3 The two provisions that decide SDC’s position in this channel”

The opening — §6.1.5.2, verbatim:

Whether an Intermediary has sufficient knowledge and expertise to provide competent recommendations and advice on Leveraging Strategies to invest in an IVIC may be based on either the Intermediary’s own knowledge and expertise, or by the Intermediary working with another person or people who have the knowledge and expertise required to supplement the Intermediary’s.

This is an explicit regulatory endorsement of exactly the role SDC plays: a third-party source of leverage expertise that an advisor may lean on to reach the competence bar. §7.1.4.2(a) repeats it as a permitted response when an advisor lacks the expertise. No equivalent sentence exists in either CIRO rulebook. This is the strongest single piece of regulatory support for SDC’s model found anywhere in this research, and it is in the channel the plan describes as the harder one.

The ceiling — §7.1.3.4, verbatim:

For further clarity, an Intermediary should not conclude a Leveraging Strategy is suitable for a Customer based solely on: (a) the approval of the loan by the lending institution, or (b) a suitability analysis regarding a Leveraging Strategy conducted by another person for the Customer.

The advisor may use SDC’s analysis. The advisor may not substitute it for their own suitability conclusion. Together, §6.1.5.2 and §7.1.3.4(b) draw SDC’s line in this channel with unusual precision: supply the expertise and the math; never supply the conclusion.

§3.2.2 — an intermediary who promotes, encourages or facilitates leveraging strategies to other intermediaries is expected to provide training material covering the costs, risks and benefits of borrowing to invest, how to create leveraging strategies, and how to determine their suitability. The guidance names “Recommending lending institutions” as an activity that counts as facilitating.

SDC is not itself an Intermediary under this guidance, so §3.2.2 does not bind SDC directly (inference — it follows from the guidance’s stated scope, which covers insurers and intermediaries; not stated in the guidance). But it tells us what a managing general agency or a supervising intermediary that adopts SDC’s tools will be expected to have. A training package covering those three topics is not overhead — it is the thing that lets a distributor say yes.


6. What a dealer compliance department will actually ask

Section titled “6. What a dealer compliance department will actually ask”

This is the practical gate the Phase 2 conversation hits. The questions below are derived from the obligations the compliance officer is personally on the hook for; each is traceable to a cited source.

6.1 “Is this an outsourcing arrangement, and have we done the due diligence?”

Section titled “6.1 “Is this an outsourcing arrangement, and have we done the due diligence?””

31-103CP Part 11 is unambiguous: “Registered firms are responsible and accountable for all functions that they outsource to a service provider.” It expects a written, legally binding contract, and a due diligence analysis of the provider’s “reputation, financial stability, relevant internal controls and ability to deliver the services.” Then, verbatim, the provision that will land hardest on SDC:

The regulator, the registered firm and the firm’s auditors should have the same access to the work product of a third-party service provider as they would if the firm itself performed the activities. Firms should ensure this access is provided and include a provision requiring it in the contract with the service provider, if necessary.

What this means concretely: a regulator must be able to audit SDC’s calculations. Have ready — a standard services agreement with a regulator-and-auditor access clause; a written description of the calculation methodology; confidentiality and disaster-recovery representations; a business-continuity answer. sdc-sdapp-trust-receipt is the natural home for the auditability half of this, and this section is its compliance justification.

6.2 “Does this do any part of our job for us?”

Section titled “6.2 “Does this do any part of our job for us?””

The answer must be no, and the compliance officer will test it, because two sources put the duty beyond delegation:

  • 31-103CP: “Responsibilities arising from the KYC obligation cannot be delegated.”
  • Seg Funds Guidance §7.1.3.4(b): suitability may not rest solely on another person’s analysis.

Positioning that survives this question: SDC computes; the advisor decides and documents. Any language implying the tool “determines suitability,” “approves” a strategy, or “clears” a client fails here.

6.3 “What does the client see, and who approved it?”

Section titled “6.3 “What does the client see, and who approved it?””

Both channels impose near-identical advertising restrictions, and both require pre-approval by a designated supervisor of client-facing material. IDPC 3602(1) and MFD 2.7.2 prohibit material that:

  • contains an untrue statement or omits a material fact, or is otherwise false or misleading;
  • contains an unjustified promise of specific results;
  • uses unrepresentative statistics to suggest unwarranted or exaggerated conclusions, or fails to identify the material assumptions made in arriving at these conclusions;
  • contains an opinion or forecast of future events not clearly labelled as such;
  • fails to fairly present the potential risks to the client.

The middle one governs every illustration SDC will ever produce. An assumption panel on every output is a rule requirement, not a design nicety.

One useful distinction: IDPC 3602(3)(v) requires supervisor pre-approval of “promotional seminar texts (excluding educational seminar texts)”. The rulebook itself separates promotional from educational seminar material. That is a real, citable reason to keep SDC’s seminar content genuinely educational.

6.4 “How is the advisor compensated, and is that a referral arrangement?”

Section titled “6.4 “How is the advisor compensated, and is that a referral arrangement?””

Two independent hooks, both of which SDC’s affiliate model can trip:

  • NI 31-103 referral arrangements (recited in GN-3200-22-001 §3.1): a written agreement, records of all referral fees, and written disclosure to the client before an account is opened or services provided — naming each party, the purpose and material terms, any conflicts of interest, the fee calculation and amount where possible, each registrant’s registration category and the activities that registrant is not permitted to engage in, and a statement that all registration-requiring activity will be performed by the registrant receiving the referral.
  • Outside activity — MFD Rule 1.3 defines an outside activity to include any activity outside the Member “for which direct or indirect payment, compensation, consideration or other benefit is received or expected.” An advisor paid by SDC needs written Member approval before engaging, plus client disclosure where the activity could be confused with Member business.

Design consequence, and it is a real one: any SDC revenue model that pays a registered advisor for client flow converts a software sale into a regulated referral arrangement carrying client-level disclosure. A flat licence fee paid by the advisor or the firm avoids this entirely. Advisor-Firm-Pricing should be checked against this before Phase 2 outreach; flagged in §10.

6.5 “What happens when the client won’t tell us about the loan?”

Section titled “6.5 “What happens when the client won’t tell us about the loan?””

MFD Rule 200 §III already answers it for the mutual fund channel: the Member must tell the client that no suitability determination can be made without the information, and keep evidence of having said so. A tool that helps an advisor capture and evidence loan details is doing something the rule already demands.

6.6 The compliance-facing one-pager SDC should have ready

Section titled “6.6 The compliance-facing one-pager SDC should have ready”

Not a rule requirement; an inference from §6.1–6.5 about what closes the meeting fastest. One page, answering in order: what the software does and does not do · who owns the recommendation · methodology and audit access · assumption disclosure on every output · compensation structure and whether any referral arrangement exists · data handling · business continuity. Build it before Phase 2 outreach, not during.


7. What you may say — the Mktg boundary summary

Section titled “7. What you may say — the Mktg boundary summary”

This section is the deliverable for sdc-mktg-canada-restart. It is written to be read standalone; Mktg should not need the rest of this file. Kept here rather than in a second file so there is one home for the boundary — cite it as Canada-Leverage-Compliance §7.

  • Teach the mathematics of leveraged investing in public, in any medium — book, website, seminar, newsletter, calculator demo. Ontario Securities Act s.34(1)¶1 names publications and other media; 31-103CP names websites. Condition: name no specific security, and do not purport to tailor it to any recipient.
  • Say the tool computes, and the advisor decides. This is not a disclaimer bolted on; it is the product’s actual architecture and the reason it clears §6.2.
  • Say leverage suitability is a documented, defensible determination the advisor owns — and that SDC’s output is built to be filed as an input to it.
  • Quote the regulators’ own numbers back to the mutual fund channel. Age 60+, leverage over 30% of net worth, debt service over 35% of gross income, horizon under 5 years, low investment knowledge, risk profile below medium — MFD Rule 200 §III. Advisors in that channel are supervised against these. A tool that surfaces them before the supervisor does is an unambiguous, verifiable benefit, and every figure is citable.
  • Tell insurance-channel advisors that working with an outside expert to reach the competence bar is expressly contemplated — Seg Funds Guidance §6.1.5.2, quotable verbatim. This is the strongest claim in the entire deck and it is the regulator’s own sentence.
  • Show illustrations with the assumptions on the face of the output. Required by IDPC 3602(1)(iii) / MFD 2.7.2(c).
  • Label every forward-looking figure as a forecast. IDPC 3602(1)(iv) / MFD 2.7.2(d).
  • Present the downside as prominently as the upside. IDPC 3602(1)(v) / MFD 2.7.2(e) — “fails to fairly present the potential risks to the client.”
  • Promise or imply specific results. IDPC 3602(1)(ii) / MFD 2.7.2(b): “an unjustified promise of specific results.” No “advisors using this add X% to client outcomes,” no back-tested return headline without its assumptions attached.
  • Use a favourable statistic without its material assumptions. IDPC 3602(1)(iii) / MFD 2.7.2(c). A number without its assumption panel is a rule breach in both channels.
  • Say or imply the tool determines suitability, approves a strategy, or clears a client. 31-103CP (KYC is not delegable) and Seg Funds §7.1.3.4(b) both cut against it, and it is the claim most likely to end a compliance meeting badly.
  • Lead with the tax deduction. MSN-0074’s own long-form text — the document the client will be handed — says “You should not borrow to invest just to receive a tax deduction” and warns of reassessment. Messaging that contradicts the mandatory disclosure the advisor must deliver is worse than useless.
  • Deliver personalized leverage recommendations directly to a retail investor under the current unresolved boundary (§4.5). Direct-to-investor personalized output is exactly the case counsel has not yet cleared. Advisor-mediated is the safe path and is the plan’s path anyway.
  • Pitch order-execution-only / discount brokerages. CIRO tells them not to promote borrowing-to-invest or refer to lenders at all.
  • Name FSRA as Canada’s insurance regulator. It is Ontario’s. Use “the provincial insurance regulators, working to CCIR/CISRO guidance.”
  • Say “CIRO’s rulebook” as though there were one. There are two, plus a partially-implemented third. Say “the mutual fund dealer rules” or “the investment dealer rules.”

SDC gives a licensed advisor the mathematics, the assumptions, and the documentation to make a leverage recommendation they can defend to their own compliance department. The advisor makes the recommendation. Always.

7.4 Answers to C1–C8 from SDC/Mktg/Canada-Restart.md §7

Section titled “7.4 Answers to C1–C8 from SDC/Mktg/Canada-Restart.md §7”

That file numbered eight compliance items for this research to answer. Answered here in its numbering so Mktg can fold them straight back into §4 of its own document.

C1 — Is friction genuinely lower in the securities/investment-dealer channel than the mutual-fund channel? Partly. Yes at the client-facing moment; no behind the scenes. Full reasoning in §4.4. Short form: the investment-dealer rulebook has no numeric leverage triggers and a two-sentence disclosure, where the mutual-fund rulebook has six hard trigger criteria (MFD Rule 200 §III) and a mandatory full-page disclosure in non-registered accounts. But the investment-dealer channel carries a heavier supervisory framework (GN-3200-22-001 §4) and a hard margin ceiling (IDPC 5100-series) the other lacks, and order-execution-only dealers are told not to promote borrowing-to-invest at all. The reason stated for the channel order needs correcting — sell the reduction in the advisor’s documentation burden, not “fewer rules.”

Scope limit — read before treating C1 as settling channel order. This answer is about regulatory friction only, and that is not the question Canada-Restart.md was really asking. That file’s own research points the other way on commercial momentum: B2B is mid-ownership-change (Fairstone/Laurentian), and Manulife’s advisor/MGA lending rebuild is the strongest activity it found — channel 3, not channel 1. This file’s best find cuts the same direction: Seg Funds §6.1.5.2, the one place any Canadian regulator expressly endorses an advisor leaning on outside leverage expertise, is also channel 3 (§5.3).

So: regulatory friction is lowest at the client-facing moment in channel 1; regulatory support for SDC’s specific model and current lending momentum both sit in channel 3. Those are three different measures and they do not agree. Channel order is a CEO decision with all three inputs on the table — C1 does not close it, and nothing in this file should be read as closing it.

C2 — Does an advisor’s use of a third-party leverage tool with a client engage registration or supervisory obligations for the tool’s provider? Supervisory obligations: yes, indirectly and certainly — they fall on the dealer, and the dealer will push them onto SDC by contract. 31-103CP Part 11: the firm is “responsible and accountable for all functions that they outsource,” must do documented due diligence, and must secure regulator-and-auditor access to the provider’s work product. Expect that clause in every agreement (§6.1). Registration obligations for SDC: unresolved and routed to counsel (§4.5, §8 items 1–2). The conservative operating rule that makes this a non-issue for the whole Canada restart is in §4.3: SDC outputs mathematics, the advisor owns every recommendation, and public SDC material names no security and is not tailored.

C3 — Where exactly does software facilitation end and registrable advice begin for an unregistered provider? This is §4 in full — the one item that got a section rather than a paragraph. Verified: the line drawn by statute is tailoring, and it sits in different instruments by province (Ontario Securities Act s.34(1)¶1; NI 31-103 s.8.25(2) everywhere else, which excludes Ontario by its own s.8.25(5)). A book, website, seminar or newsletter teaching leverage mathematics without naming a security is squarely inside the exemption. Unresolved: whether personalized calculator output crosses it — and, upstream of that, whether advice about borrowing, naming no security, is “advising as to the investing in securities” at all. Do not let §4 be summarized into a one-liner in marketing copy.

C4 — Must leverage risk disclosure travel with tool output shown to a client, and by whom? The obligation is the dealer’s, never the provider’s — but the tool can trigger it. IDPC 3217(1) fires on three events: opening a retail account, prior to an initial recommendation to purchase securities with borrowed money, or first becoming aware of a client’s intention to do so. MFD Rule 2.6 mirrors it. So an advisor showing a client a leverage illustration is, at minimum, in the “aware of intention” zone, and the Dealer Member must then deliver the disclosure and obtain positive acknowledgement (six-month look-back applies). Practical answer for Mktg: SDC does not deliver it and must never claim to satisfy it. A tool that prompts the advisor that the disclosure is now due is doing something useful and honest, and that framing is safe.

C5 — Does brandable client-facing education trigger the dealer’s advertising review, and what does that cost the sales cycle? Yes, in both channels, and it is a rule, not a preference.

  • MFD 2.7.3: “No advertisement or sales communication shall be issued unless first approved by a partner, director, officer, compliance officer or branch manager who has been designated by the Member.”
  • IDPC 3602(3): designated-Supervisor pre-approval is mandatory for research reports, market letters, telemarketing scripts, promotional seminar texts, original advertisements or original template advertisements, and any material with performance reports used to solicit clients. 3602(4): everything else still needs pre-use approval, post-use review, or post-use sampling. 3602(6): copies and supervision records must be retained and “readily available for inspection.”
  • The lever: IDPC 3602(3)(v) pre-approval covers “promotional seminar texts (excluding educational seminar texts)”. The rulebook itself distinguishes them. Genuinely educational material has a lighter path.
  • Sales-cycle consequence: a template advertisement is itself a pre-approval item, so an SDC-branded template is reviewed once per firm rather than once per advisor. Ship firm-level templates with the assumption panel and risk presentation already correct, and the review is a gate SDC can pass on the first pass rather than a cycle of rejections.

C6 — Is “client-first” usable, or does it read as an unsubstantiated comparative? Usable as a description of SDC’s own design principle. Not usable as a comparative claim. (Judgement call, reasoned from the cited rules — inference, not a regulator’s statement.) Two considerations pull against loose use: “puts the client’s interest first” is the statutory suitability standard itself in both rulebooks (IDPC 3402(1)(ii), MFD 2.2.6(1)(b)), so wording that implies SDC discharges it, or that advisors using SDC meet it, invites exactly the wrong reading; and any comparative form (“more client-first than…”) is an unrepresentative-conclusion problem under IDPC 3602(1)(iii) / MFD 2.7.2(c) unless the comparison’s material assumptions are stated. Safe form: “designed client-first” describing SDC’s own choices. Unsafe form: anything implying a compliance outcome or a comparison to other tools or advisors.

C7 — For the insurance/MGA channel: which rules govern advisor-facing marketing, and who holds the review? Provincial law governs; the cross-provincial expectations are CCIR/CISRO’s; the review sits with the insurer and the intermediary, not with a single national body. There is no CIRO-equivalent rulebook here (§5). The advertising expectations in the CCIR/CISRO Segregated Funds Guidance (Nov 2025) most likely to bite SDC’s material:

  • §5.2.2.1 — “Where an advertisement mentions an advantage, it should mention any limitations or exceptions that affect or reduce the advantage.”
  • §5.4.4.1 — material showing rates of return or return calculations “should clearly indicate this information does not reflect or predict future returns or values and may not be repeated.” This applies directly to every leverage illustration.
  • §5.6.2.1 — advertisements should give the full legal name of the insurer or intermediary advertising, and of the issuing insurer if different. §5.6.3.1 — where confusion is possible, make clear the insurer is responsible for the contract’s promises, not any other party. Co-branded SDC/advisor material must not create the impression SDC stands behind an insurance contract.
  • Guidance is implemented per province and does not supersede provincial law (§5.1), so “which council” is genuinely a per-province question. Where an MGA sits between insurer and advisor, expect the MGA to run first-line review; that allocation is not stated in the guidance and is an inference from the distribution structure — verify with the specific MGA rather than assuming.

C8 — Does “the tool never recommends leverage” need substantiation a compliance officer accepts? Yes — documented product behaviour, and the standard is already written down. 31-103CP Part 11 requires the firm and its auditors to have “the same access to the work product of a third-party service provider as they would if the firm itself performed the activities.” An assertion in a brochure does not meet that; a written methodology description, the behaviour visible in the product, and a contractual access clause do. This is the compliance case for sdc-sdapp-trust-receipt, and it converts that task from an engineering nicety into a sales prerequisite. Pair it with the §6.2 framing — computation, never conclusion — since 31-103CP’s “KYC responsibilities cannot be delegated” and Seg Funds §7.1.3.4(b) are the two sentences a compliance officer will reach for.


Genuinely requires counsel; do not answer these internally. Per the Risks JD, engaging counsel escalates to the CEO.

  1. The load-bearing one. Is advice about whether and how much to borrow to invest — delivered without naming or selecting any security — “advising others as to the investing in or the buying or selling of securities” within s.1(1) of the Securities Act (Ontario) and its provincial equivalents? Specifically: does the analysis change when the borrowing recommendation is quantitatively derived from assumed portfolio returns, given that no security is identified?
  2. If the answer to 1 is yes, does interactive software that produces output personalized to a specific end user’s financial inputs “purport to be tailored to the needs of anyone receiving the advice” under OSA s.34(1)¶1 / NI 31-103 s.8.25(2)? Does it change the answer if the user is a registered advisor running the analysis for their own client file, rather than the client?
  3. Does the Ontario/rest-of-Canada split (OSA s.34 vs. NI 31-103 s.8.25, per s.8.25(5)) produce any substantive difference in outcome for 1 and 2, or is it purely a drafting artifact? Are there provinces whose formulation differs from the NI 31-103 wording?
  4. Would a per-advisor or per-firm licence fee — with no compensation tied to any trade, product, or client referral — keep SDC outside both the NI 31-103 referral-arrangement regime and the OSA s.34(3) / NI 31-103 s.8.25(3) concurrent-disclosure condition? Ask this before pricing is fixed.
  5. Is SDC’s provision of leverage training and tools to insurance intermediaries capable of making SDC an “Intermediary” under the CCIR/CISRO Segregated Funds Guidance, or of attracting any provincial insurance-licensing requirement?
  6. Any Québec-specific analysis — the Autorité des marchés financiers regime and the Québec Securities Act were not examined in this research.

All fetched 2026-09-07 from the issuing body’s own site. Nothing below is a law-firm summary. CIRO’s site is behind a bot check that blocks plain HTTP clients — pages were read with a real browser.

#SourceIssuerDocument dateUsed for
1Dealer Member Rules (rulebook index) — ciro.ca/rules-and-enforcement/dealer-member-rulesCIROlive page§1 — two live rulebooks; legacy guidance still effective
2Investment Dealer and Partially Consolidated (IDPC) RulesCIRO11 Aug 2026§2.1, §3.1, §6.3 — ss.3202, 3217, 3402, 3602
3Mutual Fund Dealer (MFD) RulesCIRO1 Apr 2026§2.2, §3.2, §6.3, §6.4 — Rules 1.3, 2.2.5, 2.2.6, 2.6, 2.7, 200 §III
4MSN-0074 Leverage Risk DisclosureMFDA (live on CIRO)6 Apr 2010, upd. 19 May 2010§2.2 — short/long form, which applies when
5GN-3200-22-001 Guidance on Borrowing for Investment PurposesIIROC (live on CIRO), Notice 22-016625 Oct 2022§3.1, §4.4, §6.4 — checklist, supervision, referrals, OEO
6GN-3200-21-001 Borrowing for Investment Purposes – Suitability and SupervisionIIROCeff. 31 Dec 2021superseded by #5 — recorded so it is not cited by mistake
7Rule Consolidation Project UpdateCIROlive page§1 — five phases, DC Rules, no completion date
8National Instrument 31-103, unofficial consolidationCSA (via BCSC)eff. 1 Jan 2026§4.2 — s.8.25 incl. 8.25(5) Ontario carve-out
9Companion Policy 31-103CP, unofficial consolidationCSA (via OSC)live page§4.1, §4.2, §6.1, §6.2 — business trigger, advising generally, outsourcing, KYC
10Securities Act (Ontario), R.S.O. 1990, c. S.5Government of Ontario (e-Laws)last amd. 2025, c.10, Sched. 17§4.1, §4.2 — s.1(1) “adviser”, s.34
11CCIR/CISRO Segregated Funds GuidanceCCIR + CISRONov 2025§5 — leveraging strategy definition, §§3.2.2, 6.1.5, 7.1.3, 7.1.4
12CCIR and CISRO Notice — Segregated Funds GuidanceCCIR + CISRONov 2025§5.1 — per-jurisdiction implementation, no national date
13Guidance: Conduct of Insurance Business and Fair Treatment of CustomersCCIR + CISRO—§5.1 — the standing conduct layer the Nov 2025 guidance builds on

Confidence. §§1–3 and §5 are direct rule and guidance text — high confidence, subject only to the rulebooks changing. §4.1–4.2 are statute and companion policy — high confidence on what they say; §4.3 points 4–6 are application of them to a fact pattern the sources do not address, which is why §8 exists. §6 is derived from cited obligations, with §6.6 flagged as inference. §5.4’s “SDC is not itself an Intermediary” is marked inference in place.

Not researched, deliberately: Québec’s AMF regime (§8 item 6); provincial insurance-council-specific rules beyond CCIR/CISRO; the U.S. regime, deferred to sdc-risks-us-compliance-research; tax deductibility of interest, which lives in Core/_WorkingOn/Research/canada-investment-taxation.md and was out of scope.


  • Advisor-Firm-Pricing needs a compliance check against §6.4 — a revenue model paying registered advisors for client flow becomes a regulated referral arrangement with client-level disclosure; a flat licence fee does not. Cheaper to settle before Phase 2 outreach than after.
  • sdc-sdapp-trust-receipt has a compliance justification now — §6.1’s regulator-and-auditor access expectation is why methodology transparency is a sales asset, not just an engineering nicety.
  • A compliance-facing one-pager (§6.6) should exist before Phase 2 outreach.
  • A training package covering costs/risks/benefits of borrowing to invest, how to create a leveraging strategy, and how to assess its suitability (§5.4) is what lets an insurance distributor adopt SDC’s tools.
  • Re-verify before reliance. The IDPC and MFD rulebooks are amended regularly and the DC Rules consolidation is live; CCIR/CISRO implementation is rolling out per province. Re-check sources #1, #2, #3 and #11 before any material external commitment.

Terms defined at first use above; collected here for reference.

  • AMF — Autorité des marchés financiers, Québec’s financial-sector regulator.
  • CCIR — Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators; a council of provincial/territorial insurance regulators, not a regulator itself.
  • CIRO — Canadian Investment Regulatory Organization; the self-regulatory organization formed 1 January 2023 by amalgamating IIROC and the MFDA.
  • CISRO — Canadian Insurance Services Regulatory Organizations; the counterpart council for insurance intermediary regulators.
  • Client-focused reforms — the CSA reform package that raised know-your-client, know-your-product, conflict-of-interest and suitability obligations, adding the requirement that a registrant put the client’s interest first.
  • CSA — Canadian Securities Administrators; the umbrella body of the 13 provincial and territorial securities regulators. Canada has no national securities regulator.
  • DC Rules — CIRO Dealer and Consolidated Rules; the single rulebook being phased in to replace the IDPC and MFD Rules.
  • FSRA — Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario; Ontario’s insurance regulator.
  • IDPC Rules — Investment Dealer and Partially Consolidated Rules; CIRO’s rulebook for investment dealers, the former IIROC channel.
  • IIROC — Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada; the former investment-dealer regulator, now part of CIRO.
  • IVIC — individual variable insurance contract; the regulatory name for a segregated fund contract.
  • KYC — know your client.
  • MFD Rules — Mutual Fund Dealer Rules; CIRO’s rulebook for mutual fund dealers, the former MFDA channel.
  • MFDA — Mutual Fund Dealers Association of Canada; the former mutual-fund-dealer regulator, now part of CIRO.
  • NI 31-103 — National Instrument 31-103, Registration Requirements, Exemptions and Ongoing Registrant Obligations; the CSA rule that sets who must register and on what terms. 31-103CP is its Companion Policy — the regulators’ published interpretation.
  • OEO — order-execution-only; discount brokerage, exempt from the suitability determination obligation.
  • OSA — Securities Act (Ontario), R.S.O. 1990, c. S.5.
  • Registrable advice — advice that legally requires registration with a securities regulator to provide.